Do You Know The Different Types of Multiple Sclerosis?

© Copyright 2010 CorbisCorporationUnless you’re one of the 400,000 Americans living with multiple sclerosis, then you might not be aware that not one, but four types of MS actually exist. Whether you’ve recently been diagnosed with MS or you have a close friend or family member with the disease, here’s what to expect from each form in terms of how it affects the body because as Dr. Maya Angelou always used to say, “When you know better, you do better!”

1. Relapsing-remitting Multiple Sclerosis (RRMS)

Approximately 85 percent of MS patients are initially diagnosed with RRMS, making it the most common form of MS. RRMS is characterized by relapses, flare-ups and exacerbations followed by periods of remission during which the person’s symptoms may improve for a while. Most RRMS patients are diagnosed in their early 20s.

2. Primary-progressive Multiple Sclerosis (PPMS)

PPMS is an uncommon form of MS that only occurs in 10 percent of MS patients and is characterized by slowly-worsening symptoms without any relapses or remissions. Most people with PPMS tend to be around the age of 40 when diagnosed with this form.

Read the rest of my article at [].


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s